Museum the New Llano Colony

Eugene D. Carl



Pre-Colony History:  

Family Information: Married Jessie Page in January, 1937 in Leesville, LA.  

Job in Colony: Very soon after his arrival, he was placed in charge of the new barter and scrip proposition which colonists hoped would allow Llano to become the exchange center for products and merchandise within a two-hundred mile radius.

During the May Day Revolution of 1935, he was elected Executive Director of the colony and served in that capacity until the receivership began; after taking a summer off from those duties, he again served as manager, this time under the receiver.

In August 1935, he was helping to fish the veneer logs out of the steaming vat to fill an order at the crate factory.

In November 1935 he volunteered for extra evening work at the crate factory in order to fill an urgent order. Other volunteers included: Industrial Foreman Chet Page, editor and teacher Emery, Willie Brown, Mr. Jernberg and his son, Elmer, Sylvester, Arlene and Mrs. Watson.

In February 1936, he, along with Mr. Joynes and Harold Emery, took the civil service examination for postmaster at Leesville, LA.  

Home in Colony: In January 1937 there was a re-shuffling of homes in the colony -- the Carls took a home that had been vacated by the Page family.  

Other Info: He was a friend of Oscar Needham's who came to the colony in February, 1935 from Pittsburgh, Pa.

In October 1935 he was nominated to be on the Board of Directors, along with (in order of nomination), Robert K. Williams, E.D. Carl, Lester Caves, Crockett Campbell, John Szpila, Harold Emery, Charles Lawrence, Chester Peecher, E.O. Joynes, Chester Page, Horace Cronk, George Hullinger, Walter Robison, "Chauncey" DuProz, Mrs. Olive Lentz, Mrs. Mabel Busick, Lionel Crossland, Charles Derleth, J.H. "Dad" Ribbing and Cy Horney. The meeting also adopted a rule permitting all resident members who had been at the colony more than sixty days to vote in the election, provided too few proxies were received to hold a regular stock holders' meeting.

Less than one fourth the required stock was represented at the Stockholders' meeting, so the colonists proceeded with the election of a new board of directors as planned. Those selected were: Robert K. Williams, E.C. Carl, Lester Caves, Crockett Campbell, Harold Emery, Chester Peecher, E.O. Joynes, Charles Lawrence, and Chester Page. Runners up were Mrs. Mabel Busick, Horace Cronk and John Szpila.  

Post-Colony History:  


Sources: "Llano Colonist": February 16, 1935, August 24, 1935, October 12, 1935, November 2, 1935, February 29, 1936; January 9, 1937, January 30, 1937  

Photo: Eugene Carl